Scholarly or Popular?Popular & Scholarly
What is a Database?
This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "? Finding Articles ?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Image Map

? Finding Articles ?   Tags: articles, how.to, scholarly  

Last Updated: Mar 2, 2012 URL: http://gtclibrary.libguides.com/findarticles Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Where to Find Articles

You will find articles in magazines, journals and or newspapers.

Articles come in print or electronic format and you may have acess to either through articles databases. But you might not as some articles are not available in electronic format. Sometimes you will only have access to a citation or abstract. Articles may also be selected for publication in a book that contains a collection of articles. There are also articles in encyclopedias and/or on websites.

 

  • Which to use First
    Decide when to use the Free Web (i.e., Google, Wikipedia) or Library Online Resources?
 

Consider Using Magazines When...

MAGAZINES publish articles on topics of popular interest and current events. The articles are written by journalists and are for the general public. Magazines, like journals and newspapers, are called "periodicals" because they are published at regular intervals throughout the year. You can find print magazines at newsstands and in libraries. Many electronic versions of magazines are now available on the web. “Trade” magazines focus on a particular industry. These are useful for keeping up to date with news and information about your career.

Use a magazine...

  • to find information or opinions about popular culture
  • to find up-to-date information about current events
  • to find general articles written for people who are not necessarily specialists in the topic area

Examples of Magazines

  • U.S. News and World Report
  • Wired
  • Business Week
  • Hotel & Restaurant News (“trade” magazine)


Find a magazine…

  • by browsing the periodicals display in the GTC Library
  • by searching the online catalog to see if GTC library subscribes
  • by browsing the “Journals A-Z” in GALILEO
  • by searching an articles database in GALILEO

We gratefully acknowledge & credit University of Ohio BOLT
and the University of Wyoming
TIP 
for this content

 

Consider Using Journals When...

JOURNAL articles are written by scholars in an academic or professional field. They may cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be published. Articles that are reviewed by these editorial boards are often called refereed or peer-reviewed. Since journals are published at periodic intervals, they are grouped in the category called "periodicals." They may be in print format or on the web as electronic journals.

Use a Journal...

  • when doing scholarly research
  • to find out what has been studied on your topic
  • to find bibliographies that point to other relevant research

Find a journal...

  • by browsing the periodicals display in the GTC Library
  • by searching the online catalog to see if GTC library subscribes
  • by browsing the "Journals A-Z" in GALILEO
  • by searching an articles database in GALILEO

Examples of Journals

Although both magazines and journals are periodicals, that is, published at regular intervals, they are different. Journals are often referred to as a "scholarly resource" or "peer reviewed."

  • Literary Review
  • Faulkner Journal
  • Comparative Literature
  • Ethics & Medicine: An International Journal of Bioethics
  • African American Review
  • Hispanic American Historical Review
  • American Asian Review
  • Biography: An Interdisciplinary Quarterly

We gratefully acknowledge & credit University of Ohio BOLT
and the University of Wyoming
TIP 
for this content

 

Consider Using Newspapers When...

NEWSPAPERS provide articles about current events and are a good source for local information. Newspapers, like journals and magazines, are called "periodicals" because they are published regularly, or periodically. Newspapers come in print and/or electric format. Many newspapers have their own Web sites with today's news, and sometimes they provide earlier, popular articles free.

Use a Newspaper...

  • to find current information about international, national and local events
  • to find editorials, commentaries, expert or popular opinions

Examples

  • Atlanta Journal Constitution
  • USA Today
  • New York Times

Find a newspaper...

  • by coming to the library to see if your library subscribes to the newspaper you are looking for
  • by searching the web
  • by selecting a newspaper database in GALILEO
    • Lexis/Nexis Academic

 

We gratefully acknowledge & credit University of Ohio BOLT
and the University of Wyoming
TIP 
for this content

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip