Here is where to find materials on your topic when in the library
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Many authors have their own websites. Here are a few examples:
GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online
GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories. GALILEO is an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. Password is required for off-campus access.
Using encyclopedias in the early stages of the research process is a strategy that will help you save time and make your life easier!
Encyclopedia articles are condensed topic overviews. You can get great background information and context for your later research.
Encyclopedia articles provide clues to search terms (keywords) that will help you focus on your topic and that you can use in database searches. Good search results depends on the search terms that you use.
Your instructor may say that encyclopedias are not an acceptable source. This means that you need additional sources for your research, not that you can't use encyclopedias. Use them! They are credible sources.
General encyclopedias cover all topics. Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia. GVRL and Credo contain general and specialized encyclopedias.
A specialized encyclopedia is usually limited to a specific topic or range of topics within an area of interest such as medicine or business.
GVRL and Credo are reference databases that have both general and specialized encyclopedias.
Periodicals are sources that are printed or published periodically.
Scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, and newspapers are examples of periodicals
Each of these three serves a different purpose. It is important you understand those purposes so you know when to use them for assignments.
Scholarly Journals are periodicals that contain collections of articles written by experts in academic or professional fields. They are often known as peer-reviewed journals or academic journals.
JOURNAL articles are written by scholars in an academic or professional field. They may cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be published. Articles that are reviewed by these editorial boards are often called refereed or peer-reviewed. Since journals are published at periodic intervals, they are grouped in the category called "periodicals." They may be in print format or on the web as electronic journals.
Popular magazines are periodicals that contain information and opinions about popular culture and up-to-date information on current events. They are meant to inform and entertain the general public.
MAGAZINES publish articles on topics of popular interest and current events. The articles are written by journalists and are for the general public. Magazines, like journals and newspapers, are called "periodicals" because they are published at regular intervals throughout the year. You can find print magazines at newsstands and in libraries. Many electronic versions of magazines are now available on the web. “Trade” magazines focus on a particular industry. These are useful for keeping up to date with news and information about your career.
Trade Journals are periodicals published with the intention of marketing ideas, products, or services to a specific industry or type of trade/business.
“Trade” magazines focus on a particular industry. These are useful for keeping up to date with news and information about your career.
Newspapers provide articles about current events and are a good source for local information. Newspapers, like journals and magazines, are called "periodicals" because they are published regularly, or periodically. Newspapers come in print and/or electric format. Many newspapers have their own Web sites with today's news, and sometimes they provide earlier, popular articles free.
