Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology by
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. eBOOK AVAILABLE. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW ALIGNMENT! Full alignment with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards helps prepare students for certification and successful practice. ENHANCED CASE STUDIES! New and updated case studies with critical thinking questions give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job. SITUATIONAL JUDGEMENT SECTIONS: These sections build critical thinking skills by presenting practical situations and asking students to assess them based on what they have learned. NEW CONTENT: The text reflects new and relevant advances in the field, including updates in pediatric, geriatric, trauma, and mobile imaging. CULTURALLY SENSITIVE: Cultural Considerations boxes demonstrate the importance of being aware of the cultural and ethnic backgrounds of patients. STUDENT-FOCUSED: Learning Objectives and Key Terms that orient students to the chapter; Display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and Call Out and Warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice.
The History of Radiology by
In 1890, Professor Arthur Willis Goodspeed, a professor of physics at Pennsylvania USA was working with an English born photographer, William N Jennings, when they accidentally produced a Rontgen Ray picture. Unfortunately, the significance of their findings were overlooked, and the formaldiscovery of X-rays was credited to Wilhelm Roentgen in 1895.The discovery has since transformed the practice of medicine, and over the course of the past 130 years, the development of new radiological techniques has continued to grow. The impact has been seen in virtually every hospital in the world, from the routine use of Ultrasound for pregnancy scans,through to the diagnosis of complex medical issues such as brain tumours. More subtly, X-rays were also used in the discovery of DNA and in military combat, and their social influence through popular culture can be seen in cartoons, books, movies and art.Written by two radiologists who have a passion for the history of their field, The History of Radiology is a beautifully illustrated review of the remarkable developments within radiology and the scientists and pioneers who were involved. This engaging and authoritative history will appeal to a wideaudience including medical students studying for the Diploma in the History of Medicine of the Society of Apothecaries (DHMSA), doctors, medical physicists, medical historians and radiographers.
Craig's Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care by
Providing a solid foundation in sonography, Craig's Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care, 4th Edition prepares you to succeed in the classroom and in practice. Divided into two parts, this updated text first describes the origins and evolution of diagnostic medical sonography, defines important terminology, and provides proven study techniques such as note taking, effective listening, and test-taking strategies. The second section prepares you for the clinical environment, covering topics from the sonography perspective such as taking a patient's vital signs, safety considerations, body mechanics, patient transfer, infection control, emergency procedures, and assisting patients with special needs. Additionally, survival skills throughout the text seek to build students' problem solving skills to help them adjust both academically and in the clinical setting. UPDATED! JRC-DMS content ensures you are up-to-date on the latest standards. The only text devoted entirely to entry-level students provides a foundation of essential knowledge ensuring your educational and professional success. Step-by-step presentation of patient care in a sonography setting teaches you how to perform basic medical techniques and interact with patients. Safety Issues chapter explains how to scan with proper scanning technique and posture to avoid repetitive-motion musculoskeletal injuries. Note boxes add information on applying concepts to the clinical setting. Objectives and key terms introduce each chapter's important content. Chapter summaries simplify study and review by recapping the most important points. Glossary of Spanish phrases covers common instructions for better communication with Spanish-speaking patients. HIPAA information provides the knowledge that you will need to comply with federal law. NEW! Coverage of aseptic and non-aseptic infection control techniques prepares you to work with patients in the clinical environment. NEW! Inclusion of critical thinking "survival skills" help you to adjust your problem-solving skills both academically and in the clinical setting. NEW! Expanded accreditation section guides you through the full process in detail. NEW! Full-color design helps break up content and bring it to life.
The Vascular System by
Kupinski's Diagnostic Medical Sonography: The Vascular System, 2nd Edition provides a current, comprehensive treatment of vascular sonography enhanced by six new chapters-- Orientation to Ultrasound Scanning (1), Ultrasound Principles (2), Ergonomics: Avoiding Work-Related Injury (3), Sonography in the Venous Treatment Room (21), Evaluation of Penile Blood Flow (31), and Complementary Vascular Imaging (32). And an intregal part of the updated Diagnostic Medical Sonography Series , which includes new editions of Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Abdomen and Superficial Structures, Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Diagnostic Medical Sonography: The Vascular System, provides the right content at the right level for the right way to teach and learn. eBook available for separate purchase. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. New and updated images throughout each text help bring the visual field of sonography to life. Up-to-date coverage of diagnostic criteria in every text reflects today's best practices. Pathology boxes with tables of relevant pathologies are ideal for quick reference or review. Critical Thinking Questions in every chapter help students apply their knowledge to clinical situations and develop the analytical skills they'll need for a career in sonography. A complete Glossary defines important terminology to help students master the vocabulary of the profession. Updated references reflect the latest research in the field. A hands-on workbook (available separately for each series title) provides a variety of custom-designed exercises to help students master each objective and get the most out of their study time.
Essentials of Radiologic Science by
While maintaining the focused, student-friendly approach this title is known for, the updated 2nd Edition of Essentials of Radiologic Science now adds more detail and context on key topics to better meet the needs of today's classroom. Designed throughout to help students succeed in the course and begin preparing for the ARRT examination from the very beginning of their program, the 2nd Edition now includes comprehensive coverage of digital imaging, an array of in-book and online learning tools to help students of all learning styles master the content, and a powerful suite of online instructor's resources.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by
Learn the professional and patient care skills you need for clinical practice! Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic Sciences and Patient Care, 6th Edition meets the standards set by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Curriculum Guide and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Task List for certification examinations. Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text ensure you are well prepared for clinical success. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Back of book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation give you the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! Patient care video clips illustrate how to care for patients of any age. NEW! Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and as tear sheets in the text offer easy access to on-the-go chapter review and lab activities. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
The History of Radiology by
In 1890, Professor Arthur Willis Goodspeed, a professor of physics at Pennsylvania USA was working with an English born photographer, William N Jennings, when they accidentally produced a Rontgen Ray picture. Unfortunately, the significance of their findings were overlooked, and the formaldiscovery of X-rays was credited to Wilhelm Roentgen in 1895.The discovery has since transformed the practice of medicine, and over the course of the past 130 years, the development of new radiological techniques has continued to grow. The impact has been seen in virtually every hospital in the world, from the routine use of Ultrasound for pregnancy scans,through to the diagnosis of complex medical issues such as brain tumours. More subtly, X-rays were also used in the discovery of DNA and in military combat, and their social influence through popular culture can be seen in cartoons, books, movies and art.Written by two radiologists who have a passion for the history of their field, The History of Radiology is a beautifully illustrated review of the remarkable developments within radiology and the scientists and pioneers who were involved. This engaging and authoritative history will appeal to a wideaudience including medical students studying for the Diploma in the History of Medicine of the Society of Apothecaries (DHMSA), doctors, medical physicists, medical historians and radiographers.
Radiology Structured Reporting Handbook by
A practical guide for radiologists on providing high yield disease-specific reports Multiple studies show that referring physicians have a clear preference for structured radiology reports due to clarity and ease of interpretation, yet a one-size-fits all approach does not address disease complexities. Concurrently, the use of structured radiology templates has increased, driven in part by the need to comply with big data and artificial intelligence as well as reimbursement. Standardization of reporting is one of the first essential steps in the transformation of radiology from "the art of imaging" to a robust data science. Radiology Structured Reporting Handbook: Disease-Specific Templates and Interpretation Pearls by Professors Olga R. Brook, Wieland H. Sommer, and esteemed colleagues is a highly practical guide on structured reporting for every major area of radiology. Featuring disease-specific templates, the book is organized in six sections and 53 chapters. Section one covers core foundation topics, from different definitions of structured reporting and pros and cons to change management and how to build templates. Five disease-specific sections encompass specific cancers and a variety of abdominal, thoracic, neurological, and cardiovascular diseases and conditions. Key Highlights Downloadable disease-specific templates for a variety of clinical entities including cardiovascular, thoracic, abdominal, oncological, and neuroradiology Essential interpretation pearls for specific diseases from top experts in a bullet format, accompanied by relevant figures and tables Together, the templates and pearls provide an essential and unique practice resource for optimal and clinically relevant reporting. The book also serves as a succinct educational tool for radiology trainees and practicing radiologists who may not interpret specific highly specialized types of studies on a daily basis. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Endoscopic Transnasal Anatomy of the Skull Base and Adjacent Areas: A Lab Dissection and Radiological Atlas
