A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 20,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens, and manuscript maps. Some examples are United States map, maps New York, California map, Arizona map, America map, New York City map, Chicago map, and Colorado map. The collection can be used to study history, genealogy and family history. (from website)

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records. An editorial board guides development of this digital library.

Online Collections include:
Women Working, 1800–1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789–1930
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Expeditions and Discoveries: Sponsored Exploration and Scientific Discovery in the Modern Age
Islamic Heritage Project

The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

NARA is the official repository of documents (photographs, maps, reports, correspondence, etc.) produced by US federal government agencies. From the research page of NARA you can link to the Archival Research Catalog (ARC), the Access to Archival Databases (AAD) page, online guides and research aids.

This brief guide is designed to provide students and researchers with information to help them evaluate the internet sources and the quality of primary materials that can be found online.

Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

Historical documents from Pre-Colonial to 21st Century

multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. There are currently over 70 collections in the American Memory Historical Collections.

provides access to resources that bring together digital media and historical scholarship to promote an understanding of the past and a broad historical literacy.

The Independence Hall Association owns the website ushistory.org, which supports our mission to educate the public about the Revolutionary and Colonial eras of American history, as well as Philadelphia generally.

Historical documents from Pre-Colonial to 21st Century

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

HyperHistory is an expanding scientific project presenting 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronoptic lifelines, timelines, and maps.

Early Modern Resources is a gateway for all those interested in finding electronic resources relating to the early modern (1500 - 1800) period in history. These pages is to bring together a wide range of online resources for this period. The sites have not been intensively or extensively evaluated the sites; their inclusion here is not a guarantee of quality or historical accuracy. All the usual cautions concerning the use of online materials (or any other information source, for that matter) should be applied.