Accounting and Financial Management for Residential Construction, Sixth Edition by 
Accounting for Construction by 
Construction Safety and the OSHA Standards by
Up-to-date issues and standards relating to construction safety. Construction Safety and the OSHA Standards prepares students to handle all of the safety, health, and compliance responsibilities of even the largest construction projects. In addition to providing current coverage of the latest information and requirements in the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926, Subparts A through Z plus AA and CC), the text also includes essential safety topics not covered in the standards, such as accident causation theories and ethics and safety. Included are chapter summaries, key terms and concepts, review questions, critical thinking activities, and application activities to ensure understanding of the topics presented in each chapter. The Second Edition includes important new coverage and updating throughout, including a new chapter on innovative approaches to construction safety that go beyond just compliance (new Chapter 3).
Handbook of Construction Management by
The book is developed to provide significant information and guidelines to construction and project management professionals (owners, designers, consultants, construction managers, project managers, supervisors, contractors, builders, developers, and many others from the construction-related industry) involved in construction projects (mainly civil construction projects, commercial-A/E projects) and construction-related industries. It covers the importance of construction management principles, procedures, concepts, methods, and tools, and their applications to various activities/components/subsystems of different phases of the life cycle of a construction project. These applications will improve the construction process in order to conveniently manage the project and make the project most qualitative, competitive, and economical. It also discuss the interaction and/or combination among some of the activities/elements of management functions, management processes, and their effective implementation and applications that are essential throughout the life cycle of project to conveniently manage the project. This handbook will: Focus on the construction management system to manage construction projects Include a number of figures and tables which will enhance reader comprehension Provide all related topics/areas of construction management Be of interest to all those involved in construction management and project management Provide information about Building Information Modeling (BIM), and ISO Certification in Construction Industry Offer a chapter on Lean construction The construction project life cycle phases and its activities/elements/subsystems are comprehensively developed and take into consideration Henri Fayol''s Management Function concept which was subsequently modified by Koontz and O''Donnel and Management Processes Knowledge Areas described in PMBOK® published by Project Management Institute (PMI). The information available in the book will also prove valuable for academics/instructors to provide construction management/project management students with in-depth knowledge and guidelines followed in the construction projects and familiarize them with construction management practices. and applications that are essential throughout the life cycle of project to conveniently manage the project. This handbook will: Focus on the construction management system to manage construction projects Include a number of figures and tables which will enhance reader comprehension Provide all related topics/areas of construction management Be of interest to all those involved in construction management and project management Provide information about Building Information Modeling (BIM), and ISO Certification in Construction Industry Offer a chapter on Lean construction The construction project life cycle phases and its activities/elements/subsystems are comprehensively developed and take into consideration Henri Fayol''s Management Function concept which was subsequently modified by Koontz and O''Donnel and Management Processes Knowledge Areas described in PMBOK® published by Project Management Institute (PMI). The information available in the book will also prove valuable for academics/instructors to provide construction management/project management students with in-depth knowledge and guidelines followed in the construction projects and familiarize them with construction management practices. ements/subsystems are comprehensively developed and take into consideration Henri Fayol''s Management Function concept which was subsequently modified by Koontz and O''Donnel and Management Processes Knowledge Areas described in PMBOK® published by Project Management Institute (PMI). The information available in the book will also prove valuable for academics/instructors to provide construction management/project management students with in-depth knowledge and guidelines followed in the construction projects and familiarize them with construction management practices.
Management of Construction Projects by
Unlike the majority of construction project management textbooks out there, Management of Construction Projectstakes a distinctive approach by setting itself in the context of a single and real-world construction project throughout and also by looking at construction project management from the constructor's perspective. This project-based learning approach emphasizes the skills, knowledge, and techniques students require to become successful project managers. This second edition uses a brand new, larger, and more challenging case study to take students through key stages of the process, including: contracts and subcontracting; estimating, scheduling, and planning; supply chain and materials management; cost control, quality, and safety; project leadership and ethics; and claims, disputes, and project close-outs. Also new to this edition is coverage of emergent industry trends such as LEAN, LEED, and BIM. The book contains essential features such as review questions, exercises, and chapter summaries, while example plans, schedules, contracts, and other documents are stored on a companion website. Written in straightforward language from a constructor's perspective, this textbook gives a realistic overview and review of the roles of project managers and everything they need to know in order to see a successful project through from start to finish. P> project leadership and ethics; and claims, disputes, and project close-outs. Also new to this edition is coverage of emergent industry trends such as LEAN, LEED, and BIM. The book contains essential features such as review questions, exercises, and chapter summaries, while example plans, schedules, contracts, and other documents are stored on a companion website. Written in straightforward language from a constructor's perspective, this textbook gives a realistic overview and review of the roles of project managers and everything they need to know in order to see a successful project through from start to finish.
Residential Construction Academy by
RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION ACADEMY: BASIC PRINCIPLES FOR CONSTRUCTION, 3E includes a full color design with new and updated photos and figures. Coverage of building codes and safe materials handling ensures that the reader will stay current with industry standards and trends. In addition, a new chapter on green building practices will introduce readers to jobsite practices while they plan and execute. This book is ideal for those beginning a career in the building trades industry and provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of the core academic areas that are necessary for success in the field. Topics include work ethic, math, communications, print reading, safety, and common tools.
Smart Business for Contractors by 
Sustainable Construction by
The leading green building reference, updated with the latest advances in the field Sustainable Construction is the leading reference for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. With broad coverage including architecture, engineering, and construction, this book nevertheless delivers detailed information on all aspects of the green building process, from materials selection to building systems and more. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest codes and standards, including LEED v4, and includes new coverage of carbon accounting. The discussion has been updated to align with the current thinking on economics, climate change, net zero buildings, and more, with contributions by leaders in the field that illustrate the most recent shifts in thinking and practice. Ancillary materials including an instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter help bring this clear and up-to-date information into the classroom, making this book a valuable reference for working construction professionals. Also, Interactive graphics found throughout the course help activate the content and highlight key concepts for students. Sustainable construction has gone mainstream, and will one day be the industry norm. This book provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of a project to show you how green building concepts and principles apply throughout the design and construction process. Get up to date on the latest green building codes and standards Learn about the newest technology in green building materials Adopt the best practices in procurement and delivery systems Apply sustainability concepts to all aspects of construction and design Green buildings operate at a very high level of efficiency, which is made possible only by careful consideration every step of the way. Appropriate land use, landscaping, construction materials, siting, water use, and more all play a role in a structure's ultimate carbon footprint. Sustainable Construction provides clear guidance for all aspects of green building, including the most recent advances and the latest technology.
Total Construction Management by
A convergence of lean management and quality management thinking has taken place in organizations across many industries, including construction. Practices in procurement, design management and construction management are all evolving constantly and understanding these changes and how to react is essential to successful management. This book provides valuable insights for owners, designers and constructors in the construction sector. Starting by introducing the language of total quality, lean and operational excellence, this book takes the reader right up to the latest industry practice in this sector, and demonstrates the best way to manage change. Written by two of the world's leading experts, Total Construction Management: Lean quality in construction project delivery offers a clearly structured introduction to the most important management concepts and practices used in the global construction industry today. This authoritative book covers issues such as procurement, BIM, all forms of waste, construction safety, and design and construction management, all explained with international case studies. It is a perfect guide for managers in all parts of the industry, and ideal for those preparing to enter the industry.
The All New Illustrated Guide to Everything Sold in Hardware Stores by 
Estimating Building Costs for the Residential and Light Commercial Construction Professional by 
Activity Based Costing for Construction Companies by 
Construction Projects by
The sustainability of the construction industry is a matter of pressing concern. Construction activities pose a significant burden on the environment. This book reviews different improvement strategies for construction projects. It also review management models and discusses challenges that arise in construction projects.
Construction Site Planning and Logistical Operations by
Organizing and administering a construction site so that the right resources get to the right place in a timely fashion demands strong leadership and a rigorous process. Good logistical operations are essential to profitability, and this book is the essential, muddy boots guide to efficient site management. Written by experienced educator-practitioners from the world-leading Building Construction Management program at Purdue University, this volume is the ultimate guide to the knowledge, skills, and abilities that need to be mastered by project superintendents. Observations about leadership imperatives and techniques are included.Organizationally, the book follows site-related activities from bidding to project closeout. Beyond outlining broad project managerial practices, the authors drill into operational issues such as temporary soils and drainage structures, common equipment, and logistics. The content is primarily geared for the manager of a domestic or small commercial building construction project, but includes some reference to public and international work, where techniques, practices, and decision making can be substantially different.The book is structured into five sections and fifteen chapters. This facilitates ready adaptation either to industry training seminars or to university courses: Section I. The Project and Site Pre-Planning: The Construction Project and Site Environment (Randy R. Rapp); Due Diligence (Robert Cox); Site Organization and Layout (James O'Connor). Section II. The Site and Field Engineering Issues: Building Layout (Douglas Keith); Soil and Drainage Issues (Yi Jiang and Randy R. Rapp). Section III. Site Logistics: Site Logistical Procedures and Administration (Daphene Koch); Earthmoving (Douglas Keith); Material Handling Equipment (Bryan Hubbard). Section IV. Leadership and Control: Leadership and Communication (Bradley L. Benhart); Health, Safety, Environment (HSE), and Security (Jeffrey Lew); Project Scheduling (James Jenkins); Project Site Controls (Joseph Orczyk); Inspection and QA/QC (James Jenkins). Section V. Planning for Completion: Site-Related Contract Claims (Joseph Orczyk); Project Closeout (Randy R. Rapp).
A Whole-System Approach to High-Performance Green Buildings by
This authoritative new resource provides a comprehensive review of the current approaches to the design and construction of sustainable buildings. This hand-on guide features global case studies with practical examples of both successful and unsuccessful designs. The whole system approach to integrated design is clearly presented. This book includes insight into designing for the future, including design quality and future proofing, intelligent buildings, and whole life value. Nature inspired sustainable designs that can be mimicked in the construction industry are presented. Technical challenges such as energy efficiency, design, and computer modeling are explored along with various construction phase opportunities.
Fundamentals of Building Construction by
This text is an unbound, binder-ready edition. Loose leaf, three-hole-punched -carry only what is needed for class. Note from the publisher: Now in its sixth edition, this bestselling reference focuses on the basic materials and methods used in building construction. Emphasizing common construction systems such as light wood frame, masonry bearing wall, steel frame, and reinforced concrete construction, the new edition includes new information on building materials properties; the latest on "pre-engineered" building components and sustainability issues; and reflects the latest building codes and standards. It also features an expanded series of case studies along with more axonometric detail drawings and revised photographs for a thoroughly illustrated approach.
Essential Building Science by
Down and dirty - a complete step-by-step guide to making, installing and living with beautiful, all-natural earthen floors Poor heat and moisture management are the enemies of durable, comfortable, and efficient housing, and good building design and construction starts with a solid understanding of good building science. Essential Building Science provides a highly visual and accessible introduction to the fundamentals of building science for residential construction. Part one covers the rationale behind high-performance design and the fundamentals of building physics, including thermal dynamics, moisture transfer, and hygro-thermal dynamics such as vapor drive and condensation. Part two teaches the vital critical thinking skills needed to consider buildings as whole systems and to develop thermal and moisture control strategies regardless of the specifics of the design. Case studies and examples from across North American climatic zones illuminate real-life problems and offer builders, designers, and DIYers the insights and tools required for creating better new buildings and dramatically improving old ones. Good science plus critical thinking equals high performance buildings.
Cultivated Building Materials by
NEXT GENERATION BUILDING MATERIALS The 21st century faces a radical change in how we produce construction materials - a shift towards cultivating, breeding, raising, farming, or growing future resources. This book presents innovative industrialized production methods for cultivated building materials, like cement grown by bacteria, bricks made of mushroom mycelium, or bamboo fibers as reinforcement for concrete. Spanning from scientific research to product development and architectural application, this book builds a bridge between the academic and the professional world of architecture. The book describes the challenges, strategies, and goals in the first part, followed by a second part on bamboo, A cultivated building material and a number of examples in the third part which form the bridge from cultivated materials to building products.
