Here is where to find materials on your topic when in the library
GALILEO - GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online
GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories.
GALILEO is an initiative of the Board of Regents, University System of Georgia.
Please access GALILEO with your Single Sign On from GTC Dashboard or Blackboard
This link opens in a new windowInterlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service through which print materials not owned by the Library may be borrowed from other library systems. The Library is a member of the Worldshare Interlibrary Loan network. Membership provides access to the collections of member libraries in Georgia and nationally.
Library customers initiate ILL requests by filling out an “ILL Request Form” and agreeing to all terms and conditions of the lending library. Requests for media such as videos, Books on CD or tape or music, cannot be accepted.
Loan period and renewal are determined by the lending institution and lending institutions may require that their materials be used in the library. It is difficult to determine the length of time necessary to fill an ILL request. Customers will be notified of the availability of requested materials within two to four weeks of submitting their request.
Using encyclopedias in the early stages of the research process is a strategy that will help you save time and make your life easier!
Encyclopedia articles are condensed topic overviews. You can get great background information and context for your later research.
Encyclopedia articles provide clues to search terms (keywords) that will help you focus on your topic and that you can use in database searches. Good search results depends on the search terms that you use.
Your instructor may say that encyclopedias are not an acceptable source. This means that you need additional sources for your research, not that you can't use encyclopedias. Use them! They are credible sources.
General encyclopedias cover all topics. Encyclopedia Britannica is a general encyclopedia. GVRL and Credo contain general and specialized encyclopedias.
A specialized encyclopedia is usually limited to a specific topic or range of topics within an area of interest such as medicine or business.
GVRL and Credo are reference databases that have both general and specialized encyclopedias.
Use these keywords or combinations of words &/or subject terms when searching the library catalog, articles databases or the Internet.
