Skip to Main Content
Map Resources
- 16th - Early 20th Century Maps of Africa - This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies.
- ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World - A geographic information system (GIS) is a system that creates, manages, analyzes, and maps all types of data. GIS connects data to a map, integrating location data (where things are) with all types of descriptive information (what things are like there).
- ArcGIS Maps - This is an index to scanned copies of paper, topographic maps. The paper maps are parts of sets of maps at various scales.
- Big Ten Academic Alliance Geospatial Resources - Provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources in the portal are selected and curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at twelve research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
- Carib Map - A cartographic history of Caribbean islands.
- David Ramsey Map Collection - The historical map collection has over 123,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, Antarctica, the Pacific, the Arctic, and the World.
- Geography & Map Reading Room - The Geography and Map Division (G & M) has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5.5 million maps, 80,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including over 19,000 CDs/DVDs.
- Google Earth - Google Earth is a computer program that renders a 3D representation of Earth based primarily on satellite imagery. The program maps the Earth by superimposing satellite images, aerial photography, and GIS data onto a 3D globe, allowing users to see cities and landscapes from various angles.
- Library of Congress Maps - This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections.
- Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education Center - The Leventhal Map & Education Center cares for more than a quarter million cartographic and geographic objects, including maps, atlases, charts, globes, gazetteers, ephemera, research texts, and data sets.
- North American Environmental Atlas - The North American Environmental Atlas combines and harmonizes geospatial data from Canada, Mexico and the United States to allow for a continental and regional perspective on environmental issues that cross boundaries. It is a unique tool to analyze and raise awareness of our shared environment and ecosystems across the continent, to demonstrate their value, and to help us see what needs to be done to protect them.
- Old Maps Online - Easy to use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.
- USGS TopoView - Includes both current and historical maps and is full of enhancements.
- World Map (ArcGIS) - Harvard WorldMap began in 2008 with the aim of lowering barriers for scholars to create, analyze, and share geospatial information. To continue the legacy and further expand opportunities for collaboration, the project has been moved to ArcGIS Online.
- WunderMap - Interactive map of current weather conditions.
