Medicine: R – RX
- R & RA – General & Public Aspects
- RB – Pathology
- RC – Internal
- RD – Surgery
- RE – Ophthalmology
- RF – Otorhinolaryngology
- RG – Gynecology & Obstetrics
- RJ – Pediatrics
- RK – Dentistry
- RM & RS – Therapeutics, Pharmacology & Pharmacy
- RT – Nursing
- RV, RX & RZ – Other
Description:
Due to the popularity and success of the various medical programs at Gwinnett Technical College, the medical section in GTC Library is comparatively large and contains representative titles across a broader range of collection levels than most other sections of the collection. All-encompassing medical encyclopedias, dictionaries and surveys of medical practice and history serve as introductions to the field. Instructional support materials are collected to cover subjects such as public health, diseases and disorders and diagnosis and treatment. In-depth information, some approaching the research level, is provided via specialized discipline handbooks and manuals, dictionaries, and updated drug, diagnosis and treatment handbooks. Additionally, titles on some topics, such as public health, first aid, fitness and training, nutrition, hazardous materials, drug abuse and pediatrics, may also be useful for coursework in GTC programs outside the medical field.
Example Titles:
- Black’s Medical Dictionary – R121.B598
- Pathology for Health Professionals – RB25.D26
- Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment – RC71.A14
- Paramedic Survival Guide - RC86.7 .D55
- Infectious Diseases – RC111.I5128
- Radiology for the Dental Professional - RK309.F76
- Nurse’s Drug Handbook – RM301.12.N87
Dewey Equivalents: 610 - 619
Standards:
- Collection Level 3 / Instruction Support (reference and study); intermittent titles approaching Collection Level 4 / Research
- Publication date range should be within last 1 – 5 years (excluding classic titles)
Programs Served:
- Bioscience
- Cardiovascular Technology
- Dental Assisting
- Diagnostic Medical Sonography
- Criminal Justice
- Culinary Arts
- Echocardiography Technology
- Early Childhood Care Education
- Emergency Services
- Health Care Assistant
- Health Information Management Technology
- Health Information Technology
- Medical Assisting
- Medical Transcription
- Nursing
- Radiologic Technology
- Respiratory Care Technology
- Surgical Technology
