Collection Development

Medicine - Nursing

• R & RA – General & Public Aspects
• RB – Pathology, RC – Internal
• RD – Surgery
• RE – Ophthalmology
• RF – Otorhinolaryngology
• RG – Gynecology & Obstetrics
• RJ – Pediatrics
• RK – Dentistry
• RM & RS – Therapeutics, Pharmacology & Pharmacy
• RT 1-120 – Nursing
  • RT 89-120 – Specialties in nursing
• RV, RX & RZ – Other               

 Description:

Due to the popularity and success of the various medical programs at Gwinnett Technical College, the medical section in GTC Library is comparatively large and contains representative titles across a broader range of collection levels than most other sections of the collection.  All-encompassing medical encyclopedias, dictionaries and surveys of medical practice and history serve as introductions to the field.  Instructional support materials are collected to cover subjects such as public health, diseases and disorders and diagnosis and treatment.  In-depth information, some approaching the research level, is provided via specialized discipline handbooks and manuals, dictionaries, text books and updated drug, diagnosis and treatment handbooks.  Cross-disciplinary resources found elsewhere in the library, including but not limited to QM, Anatomy & Physiology, HQ, The Family, Marriage & Children, LB, Education and KF, Law also support nursing education.

The nursing collection supports teaching and practice and covers a range of topics including fundamentals, ethics, administration issues and trends relevant to the field as well as specialty area such as adult, obstetric, pediatric, geriatric, mental health, cardiovascular, and oncology nursing.

The nursing collection includes access to extensive electronic resources including:

• eBooks from eBooks on EBSCOhost, Ebrary, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Credo Reference, and Salem Health  Online (Magill’s Medical Guide, Salem: Cancer, Salem: Psychology & Mental Health)

• Full-text journals accessible through CINHAL and PubMed Central

• Other GALILEO databases including EBSCOhost’s Academic Search Complete, Consumer Health Complete, HealthSource, Medline and Alt Healthwatch; and ProQuest Central and ProQuest's Nursing & Allied Health Source.

 Example Titles:

• Maternity and Women’s Health Care –  RG951.M318
• Wong’s Nursing Care of Infants and Children – RJ245.W47
• Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference – RM138.M67
• Pharmacology: a nursing process approach - RM301.K44
• Kozier & Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts, Practice and Process, – RT41.K72
• Brunner & Suddarth’s Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing – RT41.T46
• Brunner & Suddarth’s Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests - RT41.T46
• NCLEX-RN – RT55
• Math for Nurses: pocket guide to dosage calculation - RT68.B68
• Caring For Patients From Different Cultures - RT86.54.G35

Dewey Equivalents: 610 - 619

Standards:

• Collection Level 3 / Instruction Support (reference and study); intermittent titles approaching Collection Level 4 / Research
• Publication date range should be within last 1 – 5 years (excluding classic titles)