The Vascular System by
Kupinski's Diagnostic Medical Sonography: The Vascular System, 2nd Edition provides a current, comprehensive treatment of vascular sonography enhanced by six new chapters-- Orientation to Ultrasound Scanning (1), Ultrasound Principles (2), Ergonomics: Avoiding Work-Related Injury (3), Sonography in the Venous Treatment Room (21), Evaluation of Penile Blood Flow (31), and Complementary Vascular Imaging (32). And an intregal part of the updated Diagnostic Medical Sonography Series , which includes new editions of Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Abdomen and Superficial Structures, Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Diagnostic Medical Sonography: The Vascular System, provides the right content at the right level for the right way to teach and learn. eBook available for separate purchase. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. New and updated images throughout each text help bring the visual field of sonography to life. Up-to-date coverage of diagnostic criteria in every text reflects today's best practices. Pathology boxes with tables of relevant pathologies are ideal for quick reference or review. Critical Thinking Questions in every chapter help students apply their knowledge to clinical situations and develop the analytical skills they'll need for a career in sonography. A complete Glossary defines important terminology to help students master the vocabulary of the profession. Updated references reflect the latest research in the field. A hands-on workbook (available separately for each series title) provides a variety of custom-designed exercises to help students master each objective and get the most out of their study time.
Cardiovascular Health by
We all think we are well-informed about cardiovascular health. But is what we think we know really accurate? Here, a renowned cardiologist describes the biological processes leading to heart and blood vessel disease. He challenges the conventional view that risk factors, poor diet, and lack of exercise are the biggest culprits. Each of these widely-described risk factors is individually discussed and Dr. Cohn concludes that their role in affecting cardiovascular health is often overstated. He promotes a greater emphasis on an individual's personal and largely inherited cardiovascular health by simple assessment of the function and structure of the arteries and heart. By identifying early disease likely to progress he advocates for early intervention, often with drug therapy, to slow disease progression and prevent symptoms of cardiovascular disease. ThroHe concludes that health care providers can better treat patients with medications that slow the biological processes that contribute to the development of artery and heart disease. These medications lower blood pressure and cholesterol, but their main effect is to slow progression of disease even in those whose blood pressure and cholesterol levels are not elevated. He describes a strategy for identifying and treating these early abnormalities before symptoms develop. Ultimately, early diagnosis and treatment, he argues, can contribute to better prevention and the slowing of cardiovascular disease progression that would otherwise shorten our lives.
Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy by
Feeling unsure about your critical care nursing skills? Time to gain some confident know-how, with the freshly updated Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition. This friendly, fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise direction on treating numerous acute and life-threatening issues. Absorb current best practices on critical care basics and specialized areas such as advanced life support measures, multisystem trauma, and treating specialized needs. This is ideal guidance for students, nurses new to clinical care, and those preparing for the Critical Care (CCRN) certification exam. Let this expert review text guide you to exam and on-the-unit success: NEW end-of-book practice exam Expansive, systems-based review of acute care conditions for all body systems Guidance on treating multisystem disorders - burns, hyperthermia, hypothermia, hypovolemic shock, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), septic shock, trauma and more Expert guidance on nursing skills - blood and fluid replacement, rapid assessment and interventions, emergency measures, fluid replacement/resuscitation, drug therapy, pressure ulcer management, moderate sedation, CPR and emergency cardiac care, and more Numerous images and charts demonstrate clinical use of IV fluids, interpreting serum electrolyte test results, drug therapy for multisystem disorders, and more Step-by-step direction on performing blood transfusions with a guide to transfusion reactions Top-level instruction in areas including oncology, acute care surgery, drug overdose and poisoning, palliative care and pain management, nutrition, prevention and screening, professional roles and ethics, test-taking strategies Ideal review text for grasping the components required to master the CCRN certification exam Chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter Advice from experts - tips and tricks and key troubleshooting techniques Take charge! - potentially lethal situations and steps to take when they occur Handle with care - identifies concerns and actions related to elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients Weighing the evidence - highlights research that guides practice Memory joggers - memory aids to help you grasp and remember difficult concepts Certification tips - draws out the most important concepts from each chapter in relation to the CCRN exam Quick quiz - end-of-chapter multiple choice questions, with answers and rationales Practice makes perfect - extensive end-of-book practice exam to test knowledge in preparation for NCLEX and certification About the Clinical Editor David W. Woodruff, PhD, APRN, CNE, CCRN-K, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence at the Chamberlain College of Nursing in Cleveland, Ohio.
Pump by
"Fascinating . . . Surprising entertainment, combining deep learning with dad jokes . . . [Schutt] is a natural teacher with an easy way with metaphor."--The Wall Street Journal In this lively, unexpected look at the hearts of animals--from fish to bats to humans--American Museum of Natural History zoologist Bill Schutt tells an incredible story of evolution and scientific progress. We join Schutt on a tour from the origins of circulation, still evident in microorganisms today, to the tiny hardworking pumps of worms, to the golf-cart-size hearts of blue whales. We visit beaches where horseshoe crabs are being harvested for their blood, which has properties that can protect humans from deadly illnesses. We learn that when temperatures plummet, some frog hearts can freeze solid for weeks, resuming their beat only after a spring thaw. And we journey with Schutt through human history, too, as philosophers and scientists hypothesize, often wrongly, about what makes our ticker tick. Schutt traces humanity's cardiac fascination from the ancient Greeks and Egyptians, who believed that the heart contains the soul, all the way up to modern-day laboratories, where scientists use animal hearts and even plants as the basis for many of today's cutting-edge therapies. Written with verve and authority, weaving evolutionary perspectives with cultural history, Pump shows us this mysterious organ in a completely new light.
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology by
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. eBOOK AVAILABLE. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW ALIGNMENT! Full alignment with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards helps prepare students for certification and successful practice. ENHANCED CASE STUDIES! New and updated case studies with critical thinking questions give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job. SITUATIONAL JUDGEMENT SECTIONS: These sections build critical thinking skills by presenting practical situations and asking students to assess them based on what they have learned. NEW CONTENT: The text reflects new and relevant advances in the field, including updates in pediatric, geriatric, trauma, and mobile imaging. CULTURALLY SENSITIVE: Cultural Considerations boxes demonstrate the importance of being aware of the cultural and ethnic backgrounds of patients. STUDENT-FOCUSED: Learning Objectives and Key Terms that orient students to the chapter; Display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and Call Out and Warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice.
Braunwald's Heart Disease: a Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine, 2-Volume Set by
2015 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Cardiology Category! Ideal for cardiologists who need to keep abreast of rapidly changing scientific foundations, clinical research results, and evidence-based medicine, Braunwald's Heart Disease is your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of contemporary cardiology. It helps you apply the most recent knowledge in personalized medicine, imaging techniques, pharmacology, interventional cardiology, electrophysiology, and much more! In keeping with the rapid pace of advances in the field of cardiovascular medicine, the Expert Consult eBook is updated frequently with the results of late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of important new research publications, and updates on clinical practice authored by leaders in the field. These online supplements are selected and edited masterfully by Dr. Eugene Braunwald. Practice with confidence and overcome your toughest challenges with advice from the top minds in cardiology today, who synthesize the entire state of current knowledge and summarize all of the most recent ACC/AHA practice guidelines. Locate the answers you need fast thanks to a user-friendly, full-color design with more than 1,200 color illustrations. Take advantage of a robust update program that includes Hot off the Press commentary, Late-Breaking Clinical Trials, and Focused Reviews. Learn from leading international experts, including 53 new authors. Explore brand-new chapters, such as Principles of Cardiovascular Genetics and Biomarkers, Proteomics, Metabolomics, and Personalized Medicine. Access new and updated guidelines covering Diseases of the Aorta, Peripheral Artery Diseases, Diabetes and the Cardiovascular System, Heart Failure, and Valvular Heart Disease. Stay abreast of the latest diagnostic and imaging techniques and modalities, such as three-dimensional echocardiography, speckle tracking, tissue Doppler, computed tomography, and cardiac magnetic resonance imaging. Research coverage of important topics in cardiology, including atrial fibrillation, aortic stenosis, and pulmonary hypertension. Access online videos covering the scope of heart disease, including percutaneous coronary intervention, valvular heart disease, and cardiac magnetic resonance. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Braunwald's Heart Disease continues to provide THE BEST cardiology information with expanded premium multimedia features, extensively revised content, and new global experts.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual by
Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders , illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions , as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
MRI and CT of the Cardiovascular System by
Written by internationally eminent experts in cardiovascular imaging, this volume provides state-of-the-art information on the use of MRI and CT in the assessment of cardiac and vascular diseases. This third edition, now in four-color, reflects recent significant advances in cardiovascular MRI technology and the continuing emergence of multi-detector CT as an important diagnostic modality, particularly for ischemic heart disease. Seven new chapters have been added including chapters on anatomy, cardiovascular MR in infants/children, assessing myocardial viability, risk assessment in ischemic heart disease and MR guidance.
Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.An ideal reference for residents, fellows, practitioners, and nurse practitioners, Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine, 5th Edition is a concise, up-to-date overview of key topics in cardiology. Using a practical, outline format, this best-selling title presents evidence-based approaches to cardiovascular diagnosis, diseases, and treatment - perfect for daily practice or exam preparation.
Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation in Practice by
The authoritative clinical handbook promoting excellence and best practice Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation in Practice is a comprehensive, practitioner-focused clinical handbook which provides internationally applicable evidence-based standards of good practice. Edited and written by a multidisciplinary team of experts from the British Association for Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation (BACPR), this book is invaluable for practitioners helping people with heart disease return to health. The text provides an overview of research findings, examines the core components of cardiac rehabilitation, and discusses how to support healthier lifestyles and reduce the risks of recurrence. Now in its second edition, this textbook has been fully revised to incorporate recent clinical evidence and align with current national and international guidelines. Increased emphasis is placed on an integrated approach to cardiac rehabilitation programmes, whilst six specified standards and six core components are presented to promote sustainable health outcomes. Describes how cardiovascular prevention and rehabilitation programmes can be delivered to meet standards of good practice Covers a broad range of topics including: promoting health behaviour change to improve lifestyle risk factors, supporting psycho-social health, managing medical risk factors, and how to develop long-term health strategies Emphasises the importance of early programme commencement with assessment and reassessment of patient goals and outcomes, and gives examples of strategies to achieve these Discusses the role of programme audit and certification of meeting minimum standards of practice Looks to the future and how delivery of cardiovascular prevention and rehabilitation programmes internationally will need to meet common challenges Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation in Practice is an indispensable resource for all health professionals involved in cardiac rehabilitation and cardiovascular disease prevention.
Frontiers in Heart Failure by
"Ischemic cardiomyopathy is considered as the main cause of heart failure in industrialized countries. The condition can occur at any age, but its prevalence increases with age. In general, careful evaluation of the patient's history and physical examinati"
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology by
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources.
Handbook of Speckle Filtering and Tracking in Cardiovascular Ultrasound Imaging and Video by
Ultrasound imaging technology has experienced a dramatic change in the last 30 years. Because of its non-invasive nature and continuing improvements in image quality, ultrasound imaging is progressively achieving an important role in the assessment and characterization of cardiovascular imaging. Speckle is inherent in ultrasound imaging giving rise to a granular appearance instead of homogeneous, flat shades of gray, as is visible and as such, speckle can severely compromise interpretation of ultrasound images, particularly in discrimination of small structures. On the other hand, speckle can be used in the detection of time varying phenomena, or tracking tissue motion. The objective of this book is to provide a reference edited volume covering the whole spectrum of speckle phenomena, theoretical background and modelling, algorithms and selected applications in cardiovascular ultrasound imaging and video processing and analysis. The book is organized under the following four parts, Part I: Introduction to Speckle Noise; Part II: Speckle Filtering; Part III: Speckle Tracking; Part IV: Selected Applications in Cardiovascular Imaging.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual by
Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders , illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions , as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
A Strong and Steady Pulse by
A seasoned cardiologist shares his experiences, opinions, and recommendations about heart disease and other cardiac problems A Strong and Steady Pulse: Stories from a Cardiologist provides an insider's perspective on the field of cardiovascular medicine told through vignettes and insights drawn from Gregory D. Chapman's three decades as a cardiologist and professor of medicine. In twenty-six bite-sized chapters based on real-life patients and experiences, Chapman provides an overview of contemporary cardiovascular diseases and treatments, illuminating the art and science of medical practice for lay audiences and professionals alike. With A Strong and Steady Pulse, Chapman provides medical students and general readers with a better understanding of cardiac disease and its contributing factors in modern life, and he also provides insights on the diagnostic process, medical decision making, and patient care. Each chapter presents a patient and their initial appearance, described in clear detail as Chapman gently walks us through his evaluation and the steps he and his associates take to determine the underlying problem. Chapman's stories are about real people dealing with life and death situations--including the physicians, nurses, medical students, and other team members who try to save lives in emergent, confusing conditions. The sometimes hard-won solutions to these medical challenges combine new technology and cutting-edge research together with insights drawn from Chapman's past experiences as an intern and resident in Manhattan during the AIDS epidemic, as a postdoctoral fellow at Duke University in the 1990s, and in practice in Nashville, Tennessee, and Birmingham, Alabama. Conditions addressed include the recognition and management of heart attack, heart failure, arrhythmia, valvular heart disease, cardiac transplantation, broken heart syndrome, hypertension, and the depression some people experience after a heart attack, as well as related topics like statin drugs, the Apple Watch ECG feature, and oral anticoagulants. Finally, the emergence of the COVID-19 virus and its disruption of normal hospital routines as the pandemic unfolded is addressed in an epilogue.
Basic Cardiovascular Physiology by
This book focuses on established cardiovascular principles and highlights some of the progress achieved by recent research in the cardiovascular field. The authors report the basic concepts related to the functioning of the cardiovascular system necessary for medical students to understand. To foster learning, in each chapter the fundamental points are highlighted in italics and/or bold. In addition, we have added boxes that contain some more detailed information about physiological mechanisms or clinical aspects are analyzed and described in greater detail. The book describes the structure and function of the heart and vascular system for the reader to understand how the cardiovascular system responds in both health and disease. The book conveys a unified vision of the function of the heart and the vascular system, explaining the complexity of the system that goes far beyond the integrated connection between preload, afterload and cardiac contractility. The endothelium covers the internal part of the whole cardiovascular system; therefore, endothelial physiology is treated in several chapters. Given the importance of coronary circulation in cardiac pathophysiology, this special circulation is described in detail and enriched with the most up-to-date information. Several paragraphs and boxes on clinical implications are dedicated to the principles of electrophysiology and the electrocardiogram. A space is also dedicated to myocardial ischemia/reperfusion injury and cardioprotective procedures. The book is written in a linear and simple language without compromising the scientific rigor of the various topics covered.
